Chakras – What are they?

The chakras are force centers or symbolic spots in the ethereal body that correspond to specific locations in the physical body as well. This belief comes from the Eastern yogis and it is a Sanskrit word pronounced as “shock-ra”, and means “wheel”, or in the metaphysical context, to mean, “Revolving wheels of energy”.

major-chakras-in-the-human-body.jpgChakras are actually real spots that serve as hubs or activity centers where the life force energies of the human body are received, absorbed and expressed. The Hindu chakra system surprisingly corresponds largely with the Oriental “qi” system, a science that should be better known elsewhere in the world under the term, “Acupuncture”.

Although there exists a wide variety of chakra systems that originate from various ancient Hindu schools of thought, it is generally agreed upon that there are 7 main chakras, with some saying 8, as well as hundreds of minor chakras where the energy (or prana in Sanskrit) of the body intersect. Each chakra is believed to possess an unique color associated with it that corresponds to its unique vibrational characteristics.

The chakras and the health of a related area of the body are considered to be interdependent. Should the chakra be open and functioning well, that part of the body would also be well off. But if the chakra is not in good shape, that part of the body will likewise mirror it. Crystals plays a vital role here in their ability to clear, vitalize, and expand the chakras so that optimal health can be achieved.

Let us take a look at each chakra:

Root chakra

This chakra is connected to the base of the spine, and its associated color is red and black. This chakra is in charge of the very basic survival instincts and is the location of the resting Kundalini, which is believed activated through proper meditation or the practice of tantric sex. It is the seat of physical vitality and grounds us to the earth. Most people would have little problem relating to this chakra, because we live after all in a materialistic and physical world. But this chakra needs to be emphasized for those who are idealistic, thought driven and spiritually oriented, to prevent increasing detachment from physical reality. The root chakra vitalizes the kidneys, and the spinal column.

Sacral chakra

The sacral chakra is located in the lower belly, just below the naval. This chakra is the seat of emotion, of desire, sexual desire and creativity. Because it controls these powerful life forces, the energies of the sacral chakra need to be harnessed properly or else they may wreak havoc with a person’s physical health and life pattern. Its associated color is orange, and it vitalizes the sexual organs, lower digestive system, and absorption of nutrients.

Solar plexus chakra

The solar plexus chakra is located at the area of the diaphragm, and it is believed to possess a protective nature, wherein it absorbs the negative energies from other chakras. That is why, if you suffer from too much stress, you can get ulcers or stomach conditions like gastritis in your stomach, because the solar plexus chakra has already reached breaking point after being so busy absorbing all that negative energy. The solar plexus chakra is the seat of ambition, and one’s own personal power and intellect. It is associated with the color yellow. When clear and expanded, the goals you have set for yourself seem easier to reach, because you feel confident and empowered. It vitalizes the stomach, liver, pancreas and adrenal glands plus other important organs, which highlights its place and role in our bodies.

Heart chakra

The heart chakra is the midway chakra between the “earthy” chakras below it, and the “spiritual chakras” above it. This chakra is associated with the color green and pink, and signifies love and compassion. It is located at the level of the thymus, at the heart area. The heart chakra helps us to exude love for all things and adds an overall healing touch and balance to the entire body and all its cells, when stimulated properly, because of its wide reach throughout the body. The heart chakra opens our eyes to understand the concept of universal oneness, and our place in it; while promoting selflessness and unconditional love. It vitalizes the heart, thymus, cellular structure and entire blood transportation system, such as the veins, arteries and the capillaries.

Throat chakra

The throat chakra is linked with the color blue and is located in the center of the neck (which has a dip in it), just above the area of the collar bone at the thyroid gland area. This chakra needs to be in good order, especially if you’re a person involved in the creative arts such as acting, singing, painting, or writing because it is the expression chakra after all! This chakra facilitates the expression of all communication between fellow humans, as well as between humans and beast, and humans with the Divine. It helps the express truth and the divine side within each one of us. This chakra vitalizes the thyroid gland, throat, voice, lungs, and breath.

Third Eye chakra

This is the chakra most developed in psychics or people with heightened awareness. It is associated with the color indigo, and is located right in the center of the forehead, between the left and right eyebrows. The Third Eye chakra provides for intuition and psychic abilities, which have been largely downgraded and ignored by today’s busy, “modern” world. Yet, “The Hunch” occasionally still manages to make its way to the forefront of our conscious mind, despite all the “noise”, and this is when we may get a flash of intuition or a vibe that something is right or wrong. It assumes increased importance when we are on a path of spiritual development, and leaving the worldly ways behind. The Third Eye chakra is responsible for the health of the pituitary gland, cerebellum, nervous system, and the left eye.

Crown chakra

The crown chakra is the topmost chakra, located at the top of the head. It is the entry point to receive Divine energies, and is the seat of spirituality, enlightenment, and perfection. This chakra is responsible for the state of Samadhi (detachment from the material world) and subsequently Nirvana, the state of enlightenment or oneness with God and the Universe. It is associated with the color of purple/violet and white. For most people, this chakra is the one least developed, because it is closely tied with high level divine concepts and spirituality, and thus may seem out of reach. Nonetheless, this chakra is crucial in uplifting us from the mundane spiritual world into the heights of the heavens above. This chakra signifies the complete journey of the awakened Kundalini from the roots of the physical earth into the ethereal realms of the Divine, marking the complete metamorphosis or development of mankind. The crown chakra vitalizes the pineal gland, the cerebrum of the brain, and the right eye.

Join Our Newsletter

And get our FREE Crystal Grid eBook that shows you how to build a crystal grid in accordance with the universal Law of Attraction and attract what you want into your life!

Thank you for subscribing. Please check your email within the next few minutes.

Something went wrong. Please try again.

Categories: The chakras.